ABC’s of Sharing: A Bible Study Format

Bible

I’ve used this format successfully over the years with different groups:  young adults, ladies, couples, teens.  Most recently I’ve used this format with my 8-13 year old children adapting it by reading a chapter of the bible together, explaining as we go through it, and at the end choosing a title and a favourite verse.  I’m trying to instill in them a love of the bible and also show them that it is important and something that needs to be a part of their daily lives.

Your journal is the notebook you will use to to write down your ABC Bible sharing and any insights you have/ struggles you are encountering.  It’s YOUR journal – write down what is important to you.  While you will be writing down your sharings, you can also write down anything God is speaking to you and events happening in your life.  Your journal is your diary.  I keep my old journals and will sometimes look through them to see what was happening in my life at different times and also what God has spoken to me through the years.

The ABC’s of sharing are as follows:

  • A – Choose A title for the chapter you’ve read.  This is usually a theme that speaks to you.  You can get creative with this, or state it as you see it.  Try to keep it to 5 words or less.
  • B – Choose a Best verse.  This is your favourite verse.  Be prepared to share why.
  • C – Choose your Challenge.  This is usually one verse, but sometimes it is a group of verses or a collection of verses with a common theme from the chapter.  Your challenge will be something concrete that you can work on for the upcoming week.  Don’t make it too hard – it should be something that you can realistically achieve – but make it specific.  Don’t just say, “I will love more,” but make it more specific.  It could be, “I will love my husband more by…” or “I will have a daily morning prayer time so that I can love those around me properly…” or “I will take time this week to ask the Lord what area I need to work on so that I can conquer these unloving actions…”  The possibilities are endless and unique to who you are and what you’re going through at this time.
  • D – Share any Difficulties you had with the chapter you read.  At this point, you may find that any questions you had are already answered.  I find that my struggles with understanding were often someone else’s best verse or challenge and that the discussions and sharings have already answered those questions.
  • Don’t forget to share about last week’s Challenge and how successful/unsuccessful you were living it out this past week!  Writing these out week by week in our journals gives us a record to look back on.  We can see recurring themes and how we’ve grown over the weeks and years.
One thought on “ABC’s of Sharing: A Bible Study Format

  1. Pingback: Luke One | women of laughter and faith

Leave a Reply

