Personal Retreat

I am a wife.  I am the mother of 11, grandma to 1.  I homeschool.  Life is busy.  Which is why I take time to pray.

My life is not my own.  Not only does it belong to my family, but first it belongs to God.  By making God number one in my life I have more love to give.  By making God number one in my I have more peace.  By making God number one in my life I have more joy.  I could go on, but you probably get the idea.

Each day I take time to pray.  I have a set time to pray in the mornings.  I walk and I pray for an hour most days.  If I miss a day or two, I don’t worry.  If I was to miss more than that I would start to reassess and re-implement.  It is that important.  I choose first thing in the morning for a few reasons.  It is the time of the day I have the most control over, mostly because no one else is usually up yet.  It also gives me proper focus for the rest of the day and strength for what lays ahead.  It reminds me my life is not my own but belongs to God who created me.  It fills me with gratitude and the knowledge that Jesus is right there by my side all of the time.

Recently I’ve started having a monthly personal retreat.  I don’t have the luxury of going away on retreats often.  I can’t remember the last time I did.  I have, however, found another solution that fills my need to spend a longer time in prayer.  I go to our church one morning a month and stay for 4 or 5 hours.  I just sit there.  I bring my bible and my journal, my rosary and possibly a spiritual book I’ve been reading.  I pray, I read, I write.  I meditate and I contemplate.  I listen.  I sit in silence.  I am nourished.

What a blessing!  It is perfect and it has helped grow my faith.  So far nothing has interfered with this time.  God and I have found a way to build our relationship once again.

I look forward to seeing how God will move in my life next.  He is never still.

Leave a Reply

