Being Selfish for Others

Jesus-prayer-1

Before we’re able to reach out to others and share the gospel we have to be selfish.  Sounds like a conflicting statement, but it really isn’t.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

I can’t reach out to others until I can see my own brokenness.  As any alcoholic can tell you, the first step to recovery is to admit that I have a problem.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

I can’t experience healing until I accept my brokenness.  I need to take time to think about my faults, taking account of the wrongs I’ve done.

Lord Jesus Christ, only Son of the Living God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

The reason I do this is so that I can experience healing.  Only Jesus can give me the deep healing that my soul needs.  Only Jesus can make me whole again.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

Taking time to meditate on the mercy of Jesus, of His sacrifice for me, is a daily/weekly/monthly journey.  A repetition of the Jesus Prayer is one way to meditate on the mercy of Jesus, but it is only a means of recognizing and remembering what Jesus did for me.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

Jesus did all this for me.  It is personal.  It is special.  I am special.  Jesus holds me close to His heart.  He poured out His love for me on the cross.  He pours out His love on me today.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

Leave a Reply

