Allowing God to Love You

(first seen on Musings by Melina)

Week one of Lent.  Our church is using the Catholic Christian Outreach study program Discovery.  Thirty-eight people has registered and most showed up for last week’s first presentation and discussion.  I’m blessed to lead a discussion group.  My group was great and taught me a lot.

The purpose of the Discovery program is to help draw us into a personal relationship with Jesus, which I already have.  And have had for a long time.  I regularly converse with God, seek out His will in my life, live my life for Him and share His Good News.

So what did God want to teach me that first week?  The first week’s teaching was on God’s Love:  His personal love for us, and our personal love for Him.  Pretty basic stuff.  The first step to a great relationship.

Early Saturday morning (like 3:30 in the morning early!) I woke up in a hotel room overheated.  The kids (the 5 youngest) and I were spending the weekend away from home at a broomball tournament.  Went to bed with the heat on, woke up sweating and found all the kids had thrown off their blankets.  Lowered the heat and attempted to fall back to sleep, without much success.

As I lay there in bed, I thought about God’s love.  I prayed the Lord’s Prayer – the Our Father – and thought about God’s love for me while praying it.  I prayed it slowly and intentionally.

WOW!  A couple of seconds into the prayer I felt God wrap His arms around me and I FELT His Love!  God never ceases to amaze me.  You can never know everything there is to know about God…you can never experience everything there is to experience about God.  Nope.  Never.  I was immersed to a new understanding of God’s Love.

That’s really all it’s about, isn’t it?  Love.

(YOU LOVE ME)

Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name.

How glorious and wonderful You are my Father.  How boundless is Your love.

(YOU LOVE ME)

Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.

You only want what is good for me, you only want the best for me.  Your will be done.

(YOU LOVE ME)

Give us this day our daily bread,

You care for me better than anyone, and better than I can care for myself.

(YOU LOVE ME)

And forgive us our trespasses,

I’m so, so sorry for hurting you, for offending you, for forgetting about you.

(YOU LOVE ME)

As we forgive those who trespass against us

Help me to love those around me with the same love that you have for me.

(YOU LOVE ME)

And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.  Amen.

Your arms protect me.  You shelter me from bad things and from bad people.  Thank you.

(YOU LOVE ME)

I lay there basking in God’s Love.  Allowing His Love to fill me and enlighten my mind.  This was why Jesus came.  To show us the Father’s Love.  It is what Jesus knew and what He tried to share with us.  Jesus taught,

‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’
Luke 10:27

It’s not just about knowing God loves us, but ALLOWING God to love us.  And after experiencing that love, ALLOWING that love to fill us and transform us.  Then we can turn around and love those around us with the same love.

Go ahead…try it!  Believe God Loves you and experience it!  This Lent, take the time to allow God to love you and transform you.

Leave a Reply

