Sitting at the Feet of Jesus

mary-jesus-feet

source

Hi, I’m Melina, mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

While praying this morning, I had the distinct impression of me sitting at the feet of Jesus.  I pictured those who sat at the feet of Jesus before me:  His parents, the teachers in the synagogue when He was only 12, His disciples, and of course Mary, sister of Martha.

Mary and Martha Bible quote

source

I pictured myself sitting at the feet of Jesus:  when I go to church, when I read scripture, when I sit before the Blessed Sacrament, when I pray a rosary, when I walk in nature, when I laugh….

Not just when I do these things, but when I quiet my mind and listen with my soul…that’s when I sit at the feet of Jesus.

That’s when I can hear Jesus’ soft whisper encouraging me, guiding me, leading me:  when I let go, and let God.

Often I have a rosary in my hands when I sit at the feet of Jesus.  Actually, when my kids were little and I would sit to pray, I would fall asleep.  So while “sitting” at the feet of Jesus, I was actually doing activity.  When I couldn’t take time away from my family to pray, I would pray while washing the dishes, while folding the laundry, while driving, while nursing the baby in the middle of the night.  Now my favourite time to pray (and it is usually the rosary while coming before my God with a humble, teachable heart and meditating on the mysteries) is while walking.

The mindless repetition of walking is perfect for praying.  It is a double gift from God because, not only do I have the chance to pray, but I also get a chance to step away from the business of life for 20 minutes (one set of mysteries) to 1 1/2 hours (all 4 mysteries prayed consecutively, at once) and get a chance to get a bit of exercise and breathe in some fresh air – alone.

Alone time is a precious thing in our busy society.  I take this time as a busy mother to focus my life on the Lord.  I ask for the graces needed to live out my vocation to the fullest, as God would want.  While I am a busy mother of 11, everyone needs time to quiet their mind and thoughts before the Lord.

So go ahead, take some Mary time at the feet of Jesus, and step away from your Martha life for a minute, or an hour – asking Jesus to refocus you so that you can return to your busy life better than you were before.

One thought on “Sitting at the Feet of Jesus

  1. Pingback: Sitting at the Feet of Jesus | musings by melina

Leave a Reply

