Matthew 1 – OUR STORY

Matthew - a journey through Matthew

JOIN THE PRAYER REVOLUTION TODAY!  SIGN UP TO PRAY A DAILY ROSARY FOR CANADA: YOUTH AND FAMILIES ON FACEBOOK:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/116884362210034/

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Welcome to day one of our devotion based on Matthew.  Thank you for joining me!

You can follow along with your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

Find MATTHEW 1 online.

Let’s first start with prayer:

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

Where we come from has an influence on who we are.  The things that happen to us also help form who we are.  In Matthew chapter 1, we see a record of where Jesus came from, as well as a record of HIS story.

A family record of Jesus Christ, son of David, son of Abraham.

Matthew 1:1

Jesus came from the line of David through Joseph.  Even though Joseph was “only” Jesus’ foster father, God gave him Mary and Jesus as his family to love and protect.  And God gave Mary and Jesus to Joseph.

Family is obviously important.  God proves this right here.  Jesus didn’t need to be born into a family.  God could have chosen any way for Jesus to come as Messiah and Saviour.  Actually, the Jewish people were expecting the Messiah to come as a mighty warrior to deliver them from their oppressors.  Yet Jesus came as a little baby into a family.

Why?

Because family is special.  Family is a little community unto itself before it is part of the larger community.  Mom and Dad have a special duty given to them by God.  God has entrusted these little people to us to nurture, teach, guide and love.  We have our little family at home, but then we also have our bigger “extended” family including grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  And each family can trace its roots back through the years.

You can read the genealogy of Jesus in this first chapter of Matthew.  And it goes way back!  I love looking at my family tree, but what I know of it doesn’t go back more than a few generations.

My family is very important to me.  Each of my children holds a special place in my heart.  I want the best for my kids.  What I teach them now will be with them their whole life long.

I want my kids to know God.  I want to share my faith with them.  My husband and I took some of what we learned growing up and shared it with our kids.  But we took the time to pray and to listen to God, and we found new ways too to share our faith with our kids.  And now I see my oldest sharing her faith with her little ones.

We continue to write our story.  But OUR story should always include HIS story, because no family is complete without Jesus.

“The virgin shall be with child and give birth to a son, and they shall call Him Emmanuel,” a name which means “God is with us.”

Matthew 1:23

Now, Jesus is more that just a baby born into a family.  He is “God is with us.”

What a wonderful gift God has given us.  He never gives up on us.  He never abandons us.  He is always presenting us with ways to know Him and to know His Love.  Jesus is that Love.  “God is with us,” and wants us to be with Him.

How?

One way we can learn how to be with God, and how He can be with us is to read scripture, especially the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, because these are the accounts of Jesus among His people.  And we too are His people.

With a gentle nudging, God has been calling me to read more scripture.  Offering no more excuses, I am opening my Bible and listening with an open heart, ready to change and to grow, beginning with this very first chapter.

YOUR TURN:  Read Matthew 1 and listen with your heart to what God’s Spirit is saying to you.  Then write it down what you hear and feel, or what stands out for you in your journal.  You will enjoy being able to see God at work in your life.  If you’re unsure what to write, you can follow the method listed below.

ABC BIBLE SHARING:  A great way to read your scriptures.  Follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method here.

PRAYER:  Thank you God for sending Your Son, Jesus, to lead us and guide us in the Gospels close to Your loving heart.  Help me to listen to Your Word with my heart and allow Your Word to draw me closer to You.  Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

