Matthew 3 – THE REIGN OF GOD IS AT HAND

Matthew - a journey through Matthew

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

Find Matthew 3 online.

BEST VERSE:

I should be baptized by YOU, yet You come to me!

Matthew 3:14

How humbling to have Jesus come to us, yet that is exactly what happens when we recognize our own limitations.  It is in that very recognition that Jesus is exalted.  When we become less, He becomes more.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

Reform your lives!  The reign of God is at hand.

Matthew 3:2

A simple, yet potentially life-changing, prayer came to mind as I read this verse.

The Jesus Prayer:  “LORD JESUS CHRIST, SON OF GOD, HAVE MERCY ON ME, A SINNER.”  Amen.

This prayer is meant to be repeated over and over.  We can meditate on ;the words and what they mean everyday.  It shows us who Jesus is, who God is, and who we are.  When we realize the great mercy that Jesus has extended to us, we in turn can show mercy to others.  Yet, we can always know Jesus and His mercy more – and we can always show His Mercy more.  When we know His Mercy and the price He paid for our sins – the love He has for us – we want to change our lives to be worthy of Him.

I once spent every day for a month praying this prayer, not just once during the day but over and over.  Today I will spend time again praying this prayer, and meditating on the truths contained in it.  God wants to soften my heart.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

 

 

Leave a Reply

