Matthew 5 – BLEST ARE YOU

Matthew - a journey through Matthew

Hi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11, and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

Read more on how to follow along.

Follow along with your Bible, or you can read this online version.

BEST VERSE:

Do not think that I have come to abolish the law and the prophets.  I have come, not to abolish them, but to fulfill them.

Matthew 5:17

How did Jesus come to fulfill the law and the prophets?  In one word:  LOVE.  This whole chapter is about love.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

Your light must shine before men so that they may see goodness in your acts and give praise to your heavenly Father.

Matthew 5:16

Our light comes from inside and its source is Jesus Christ.  HE is the Light of the World. He is also LOVE.

When we love, goodness is seen in our acts.  Then we are praising God by these very acts.  When it comes to the laws, we need to look beyond the words.  If we are just looking at the words, we can manipulate them to justify any action (just as the Pharisees and Sadducees did), but when we look beyond the words of the laws, we see the purpose of the laws – which is LOVE.

When we love GOD and love others, we need to do more than the words say.  When we do, we will meet God face to face, in the very ones we are loving.

So my challenge today is to LOVE.  This week I ate way more sugar than usual, and it made me very short tempered.  So the first thing I’m doing is eliminating sugar from my diet.  I usually don’t eat it because of what it does to me.  This will help me to love my husband and my kids as I want to.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

Leave a Reply

