Matthew 6 – DON’T WORRY. BE HAPPY!

Matthew - a journey through MatthewHi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

Find Matthew 6 online here.

BEST VERSE:

Matthew 6 34

Your heavenly Father knows all that you need.  Seek first His Kingship over you, the way of holiness, and all these things will be given you besides.  Enough, then, of worrying about tomorrow.  Let tomorrow take care of itself.  Today has troubles enough of its own.

Matthew 6:32-34

These verses remind me of my favourite verse – Proverbs 31:25 – “And she laughs at the days to come.”  We need to focus first and foremost on the kingdom of God, and on “becoming the best version of ourselves” (Matthew Kelly) and He WILL take care of us. We don’t need to worry.  We will no longer be focused on the riches of this world and we will be satisfied with what we have, and with what we have been given.  And really, there is enough to worry about today.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

Matthew 6 10

Your kingdom come, your will be done.

Matthew 6:10

Straightforward and easy during the good times, but this verse, this part of the Lord’s Prayer – the Our Father – can be difficult and challenging during difficult and challenging times.  But the more we practice it, the easier it becomes.

This is an interesting verse, because what it is essentially asking us to do is NOTHING.  Nothing except trust that God will act, that He will take care of us.

Of course, we shouldn’t sit back and do nothing all of the time, but we KNOW when we are in a situation when we should let God act.  That’s the time we should do nothing.  And even though it will seem like we are doing nothing,  the very act of doing nothing is an act of will and can be the most difficult thing of all.

If we can manage to do nothing, we will see God do amazing things!  And we will know it is Him, because we sat back and did nothing, and allowed God’s will to be done.

I recently went to a funeral for a young friend.  The pastor reminded us very gently of the words we pray so often – THY WILL BE DONE.  We don’t need to second guess God, but to trust God.

My challenge is to step back and do nothing when I know that God needs to work.  And always to let His will be done.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

Leave a Reply

