Matthew 8 – GRATEFULNESS AND COURAGE

Matthew - a journey through MatthewHi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

You can find Matthew 8 online here.

BEST VERSE:

Where is your courage?…complete calm ensued.

Matthew 8:26

Courage – when faced with illness or storms or attacks by evil spirits – brings calm.  And not just any courage, but the courage to trust that Jesus will act.  And not just any calm, but complete calm.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

Jesus took her by the hand and the fever left her.  She got up at once and began to wait on Him.

Matthew 8:15

“Jesus took her by the hand.”  That’s how close Jesus is to us when we’re suffering.  We are not going through it alone.  And when the time comes that we are healed – of physical, emotional or spiritual pain – we shouldn’t waste any time acting.  It’s Jesus who healed us, people!  We are HEALED!  Now is the time to show Jesus how grateful we are. By how we treat others.

Building on my challenge from yesterday, I will make small acts towards those who’ve hurt me – keeping the truth behind my actions a secret.  Just because Jesus has healed me of my hurt (and I trust that He has!), doesn’t mean that the relationship still doesn’t need healing.  For my part I can begin this process of healing the relationship with kindness and serving.  This too takes courage, because there’s always the danger that I’ll be treated the same way again, but without the past hurt still there, I can now react differently and take the new situation to prayer.  And really, if someone does hurt me, it should be their problem and not mine.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

Leave a Reply

