Matthew 9 – STEPPING FORTH IN COURAGE

Matthew - a journey through MatthewHi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

You can find Matthew 9 online here.

BEST VERSE:

When Jesus saw their faith He said to the paralytic,  “Have courage, son, your sins are forgiven.”

Matthew 9:2

 

But of course Jesus does much more than heal our hurts, He forgives our sins.  Jesus is God, one part of the Holy Trinity:  God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. He is so much more than a teacher and a preacher and a healer:  He is God.  And He speaks of courage again, the courage to face life and whatever trials come our way, knowing that Jesus is not only with us, but that He has forgiven our sins and make us worthy to approach God the Father.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

The harvest is good but labourers are scarce.  Beg the harvest master to send out labourers to gather His harvest.

Matthew 9:37

 

 

God is calling us to labour for Him.  It is us who needs to respond to His call.

I started jotting down all the ways that God has helped me to grow – through people, through situations, through books, through opportunities, through scripture, through prayer… – and just the act of thinking about this journey with God has filled me with so much gratitude.  My heart actually feels like it has swelled in my chest.  Who am I, that my Lord has come to me?  Or my Saviour, that He is mindful of me?  I am nobody.  Yet God has touched me and wishes to use me.

The summer is always a great time to look back on what the Lord has done, and also to plan for the next year.  I look to see what ministries I can serve in, what books I can read and study, how to arrange my personal schedule for bible study and prayer.  So that’s my challenge again this year – to take time to pray and take time to plan.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

Leave a Reply

