Matthew 12 – CHANGE MY HEART O GOD

Matthew - a journey through MatthewHi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

Find Matthew 12 online here.

BEST VERSE:

It is mercy I desire and not sacrifice.

Matthew 12:7

 

Sometimes we are burdened by the laws of the Church and even by the busy-ness of doing things for God.  We need to remember WHY we are doing these things and WHY the Church asks certain things of us.  The fruit of sacrifice should be mercy, and if it is not it is a good indication that WE are doing something wrong.  ALWAYS we need to pray to have the heart of Jesus.  When we are changed inside, our actions will reflect that change – MERCY.

CHALLENGE VERSE:

The mouth speaks whatever fills the mind.  A good man produces good from his store of goodness, and evil man produces evil from his evil store.

Matthew 12:34-35

Have you ever met someone who recently fell in love?  The person they love is all they talk about, because that is what is filling their mind.  Same thing with someone with a passion.  And if your passion is Jesus Christ, He will fill your mind and you will speak of Him.

I had recently allowed bitterness to fill my heart, and I realized just how much it had when my words, and facial expressions, were very negative and filled with anger.  It surprised me just how much it had consumed me, and I decided it was time to make a change.

My challenge is to pray all 20 mysteries of the rosary as often as possible to change my thoughts, and as a result, my words.  This is something I was doing several times a week, but I find I haven’t been doing it as often lately, and I’m noticing the difference in me.  Prayer, meditation and contemplation is a sure path to healing and happiness.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

One thought on “Matthew 12 – CHANGE MY HEART O GOD

  1. Pingback: Memorizing wonderfully 31 Son of David and God’s Kingdom – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

