Matthew 13 – STORIES TO CURE SLUGGISH HEARTS

Matthew - a journey through MatthewHi!  I’m Melina, homeschooling mother of 11 and Grandmelina to 2!

Dear Jesus, I come before you today.  Open my heart and my mind as I read Matthew. Help me to understand what You are trying to say to me, and to see what You are trying to show me.  I love You.

Amen.

ABC Bible Sharing Method with blue heart

How to follow the ABC Bible Sharing Method.

You can read your own Bible or read an online version like the one below.  Different versions can sometimes bring greater clarification.  I like to use my own Bible so I can highlight, circle and underline those things that stand out for me.

You can find Matthew 13 online here.

BEST VERSE:

Sluggish indeed is this people’s heart; otherwise they might see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and understand with their hearts, and turn back to me, and I should heal them.

Matthew 13:15

First we become as little children (Matthew 11:25) then we change our hearts (Matthew 12), then we can become true disciples of Jesus.  We will see, hear, understand, turn back and be healed.

A sluggish heart is the last thing that we want when we’re following Jesus.  We want our heart to flutter when we hear His name spoken.  We want our pulse to quicken when we know we’ll be seeing Him.  We want our time with Jesus to be special.

What if…Jesus was the love of our life?  How different would our life look?

Then our whole world would revolve around Jesus.  We would talk about Him in that voice reserved for those in love.  We would get lost in thought, in the middle of a busy day, just thinking of our love.  He would be our first thought upon waking in the morning and our last thought before falling asleep at night.  We would re-arrange our schedule just so we could spend time together.

Now THAT is what we want.  To fall so deeply in love with Jesus that our hearts change, not because we are told to, but because we WANT to.

Now THAT is what we want - 2

CHALLENGE VERSE:

“Why do you speak to them in parables?”  He answered:  “To you has been given a knowledge of the mysteries of the reign of God, but it has no been given to the others.

Matthew 13:10-11

 

 

Jesus spoke in stories so that people could understand what He was speaking of.  The disciples understood more, but the stories helped to clarify things for them too.

I will take time this week to think back to when God revealed certain truths to me and share that story.  My kids LOVE to hear stories of my past.  This week I will focus on stories about learning from Jesus – the what and the how.

YOUR TURN!  What has God spoken to your heart today?

Leave a Reply

